About the WMS Global Awards for Excellence

   The WMS Global Awards for Excellence, launched by the World Media Summit, is the first comprehensive news awards covering multiple media formats, including press, photo, video and integrated media. The awards, designed to become an authoritative, credible and globally influential news showcase, are open to news agencies, newspapers, TV stations and news websites around the world.
   The WMS Global Awards for Excellence honors “TRUTH, OBJECTIVITY, EXCELLENCE” in journalism. The awards encourage all people working in the media sector to keep honing their professional skills and pursue excellence, while inspiring media setups to work with the times in the spirit of innovation.
   The awards include three categories: New Media Reporting Awards , Media Innovation Awards and Awards for Exemplary News Teams and News Professionals in Developing Countries.
   The WMS Secretariat will invite veteran and senior news practitioners from the Secretariat members and other world renowned media organizations, as well as experts and scholars from professional academic institutions, to act as judges. They are to proceed with their work in line with prevailing international norms and with the principle of "equality and justice."
   The entries must be published, released or broadcast by media organizations. Given these are the first Awards ever launched, the time frame within which entries must have been published extends to two years.
   Time frame for entries: January 1, 2012 - December 31, 2013.
   Entries' submission: 00:00 GMT, July 1, 2014 - 24:00 GMT, September 30, 2014.
   Winners' announcement: November 2014.
   The Awards’working language is English. There are no language limitations to entries, but copies of an English translation should be attached, based on which reviews and judgment are made.


  • Time frame for entries : January 1, 2012 - December 31, 2013.

  • Entries' submission : 00:00 GMT, July 1, 2014 - 24:00 GMT, September 30, 2014.

  • Winners’ announcement : November 2014



Click here to register and submit entries online.


Click Here Online Submission